Corey McEleney

Fourteen Faculty Fellowships!

Fourteen English department faculty members have been granted research leaves for all or part of the 2015-16 academic year, under Fordham's competitive Faculty Fellowship program. We're pretty sure that this extraordinary number is an all-time high for our department, and it may be a record for any department at Fordham. 

And what a range of research projects Fordham's Office of Research will be supporting! Their geographical scope includes Europe and the Near East, Tanganyika and Tanzania, Great Britain and North America. The historical periods covered range from medieval to Victorian to contemporary. The themes researchers will be exploring include the black body, economic and political development, homelessness, love, modernity, pilgrimage, riots, travel, tourism, and upward mobility. The forms of culture they will analyze include broadsides, drama, films, grave markers, illustrations, music, novels, plays, and poetry. The methodologies and theories being brought to bear on these texts include affect studies, critical race studies, cultural studies, disability studies, genre studies, performance studies, philology, and postcolonial studies.  This is what the research agenda of a great English department looks like. 

Each of the recipients--and the department as a whole--thanks Fordham's University Research Council and Office of Research for the faith they have demonstrated in the research productivity of the English faculty. 

Recipients of Faculty Fellowships for one or both semesters of the 2015-16 academic year include: 

  • Andrew Albin, for Richard Rolle’s Melody of Love: Alliterative Translation and Commentary.
  • Edward Cahill, for Colonial Rising: Narratives of Upward Mobility in British America
  • Shonni Enelow, for Emotion After Fascism: Affect, Politics, and the Performing Body in Theater and Film of the 1970s and 1980s.
  • Christopher GoGwilt, for Joseph Conrad and Romanization: The Timing and Spacing of English as World Script
  • Constance Hassett, for Edward Lear: Genre and Genealogy
  • Glenn Hendler, for Buildings on Fire: The 1838 Pennsylvania Hall Riots
  • Corey McEleney, for More Strange than True: Re-Visions of Shakespeare’s “Dream”
  • Fawzia Mustafa, for Intersections of Literature, Film, and Development in Tanganyika and Tanzania
  • Rebecca Sanchez, for Adomestic Modernity: Homelessness, Migration, and Access to the Private Sphere
  • Elizabeth Stone, for The Grave Marker as Autobiography: The Stone Carver as ‘Ghostwriter’
  • Dennis Tyler, for Disability of Color: Figuring the Black Body in American Law, Literature, and Culture
  • Keri Walsh, for Acting Like a Hustler: Method Acting, Gender, and the Hollywood Film
  • Suzanne Yeager, for Tourism, Travel, and Ritual: Premodern Pilgrimage from Europe to the Near East. 

Congratulations to ALL!