Call for Submissions: Devil's Lake 2016 Driftless Prize

Devil’s Lake, the graduate literary journal published by the MFA candidates at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is accepting online entries for our annual Driftless Prize in Fiction and Poetry.

The deadline is October 31st, 2016 at 11:59pm CST. The winners will be announced in November 2016, and will receive $1,000 and publication in the Spring 2017 issue. Entry fee: $15. All contest entries will be considered for publication inDevil’s Lake.

The 2016 judges will be Eduardo C. Corral (poetry) and Kirstin Valdez Quade (fiction).

Best of luck! We look forward to reading your work.


Entries should include two poems totaling five pages or fewer (for poetry) or stories that are no longer than 4,500 words (prose). One entry is defined as one short story or two poems; you may submit up to two entries, but you must submit them separately and pay an entry fee for both.

All work submitted must be previously unpublished. Simultaneous submissions are permitted as long as we are immediately notified if your piece has been accepted elsewhere.

Please do not include your name or any identifying information on the manuscript itself, but only in the “cover letter” box, as all submissions will be read blind.

We are only accepting online entries through Submittable. Please make sure that your account includes a working e-mail address—it’s the only way for us to contact you! Unfortunately we cannot offer any refunds for submissions.


The following people are ineligible for entry:
Current or previous Devil's Lake staff
Writers who have been published in Devil's Lake within the past two years
Close personal friends or family of the Devil's Lake staff

To submit, see the guidelines here: 

About our Judges

Eduardo C. Corral (Poetry) is the author of Slow Lightning (Yale University Press, 2012), which was chosen by Carl Phillips as the 2011 winner of the Yale Series of Younger Poets. He is the recipient of a “Discovery”/The Nation Award, the J. Howard and Barbara M. J. Wood Prize from Poetry, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Whiting Writers’ Award. He lives in New York.

Kirstin Valdez Quade (Fiction) is the author of Night at the Fiestas, which received the John Leonard Prize from the National Book Critics Circle, the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a “5 Under 35” award from the National Book Foundation. It was a New York Times Notable Book, and was named a best book of 2015 by the San Francisco Chronicle and the American Library Association. Kirstin is the recipient of the Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award and the 2013 Narrative Prize. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, Narrative, Guernica, The Southern Review, The Best American Short Stories, The O. Henry Prize Stories, and elsewhere. She has received fellowships from Yaddo, the MacDowell Colony, Hedgebrook, and Willapa Bay AiR, as well as a grant from the Elizabeth George Foundation. She was a Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, where she also taught as a Jones Lecturer. She’s been on the faculty in the M.F.A. programs at University of Michigan and Warren Wilson. She is an assistant professor at Princeton University.