Call for Submissions: Devil's Lake 2016 Driftless Prize

Devil’s Lake, the graduate literary journal published by the MFA candidates at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is accepting online entries for our annual Driftless Prize in Fiction and Poetry.

The deadline is October 31st, 2016 at 11:59pm CST. The winners will be announced in November 2016, and will receive $1,000 and publication in the Spring 2017 issue. Entry fee: $15. All contest entries will be considered for publication inDevil’s Lake.

The 2016 judges will be Eduardo C. Corral (poetry) and Kirstin Valdez Quade (fiction).

Best of luck! We look forward to reading your work.


Entries should include two poems totaling five pages or fewer (for poetry) or stories that are no longer than 4,500 words (prose). One entry is defined as one short story or two poems; you may submit up to two entries, but you must submit them separately and pay an entry fee for both.

All work submitted must be previously unpublished. Simultaneous submissions are permitted as long as we are immediately notified if your piece has been accepted elsewhere.

Please do not include your name or any identifying information on the manuscript itself, but only in the “cover letter” box, as all submissions will be read blind.

We are only accepting online entries through Submittable. Please make sure that your account includes a working e-mail address—it’s the only way for us to contact you! Unfortunately we cannot offer any refunds for submissions.


The following people are ineligible for entry:
Current or previous Devil's Lake staff
Writers who have been published in Devil's Lake within the past two years
Close personal friends or family of the Devil's Lake staff

To submit, see the guidelines here: 

About our Judges

Eduardo C. Corral (Poetry) is the author of Slow Lightning (Yale University Press, 2012), which was chosen by Carl Phillips as the 2011 winner of the Yale Series of Younger Poets. He is the recipient of a “Discovery”/The Nation Award, the J. Howard and Barbara M. J. Wood Prize from Poetry, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Whiting Writers’ Award. He lives in New York.

Kirstin Valdez Quade (Fiction) is the author of Night at the Fiestas, which received the John Leonard Prize from the National Book Critics Circle, the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a “5 Under 35” award from the National Book Foundation. It was a New York Times Notable Book, and was named a best book of 2015 by the San Francisco Chronicle and the American Library Association. Kirstin is the recipient of the Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award and the 2013 Narrative Prize. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, Narrative, Guernica, The Southern Review, The Best American Short Stories, The O. Henry Prize Stories, and elsewhere. She has received fellowships from Yaddo, the MacDowell Colony, Hedgebrook, and Willapa Bay AiR, as well as a grant from the Elizabeth George Foundation. She was a Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, where she also taught as a Jones Lecturer. She’s been on the faculty in the M.F.A. programs at University of Michigan and Warren Wilson. She is an assistant professor at Princeton University.

Call For Submissions: Claudius Speaks Autumn Issue - - Gmail

Claudius Speaks is accepting submissions for our Autumn 2016 issue: Buried. On behalf of the Claudius staff I encourage you to submit your work to our publication. Claudius Speaks is a platform for emerging voices to challenge the mind and move the heart. We seek personal essays, narrative nonfiction, poetry, photography, painting, and illustration. A central aspect of our mission is to shine a light on less-established writers and artists.We pay for all accepted work. Should you like to heed our call and submit, please send your work via submittable. The deadline for submissions isSATURDAYDECEMBER 31st. We are very eager to review your work and we look forward to hearing from you!


APR/Honickman Prize

The prize of $3,000, with an introduction by the judge and distribution of the winning book by Copper Canyon Press through Consortium, will be awarded in 2017 with publication of the book in the same year. The author will receive a standard book publishing contract, with royalties paid in addition to the $3,000 prize, and will give a reading as a guest of the University of the Arts Visiting Writers Series in 2018. 

This year's final judge is poet Gabrielle Calvocoressi

Split This Rock Annual Poetry Contest

Split This Rock’s Annual Poetry Contest serves to raise the visibility and prestige of poetry of provocation and witness. Judged this year by Sheila Black, past judges have included Rigoberto González, Natalie Diaz, Kyle Dargan, Mark Doty, Naomi Shihab Nye, Tim Seibles, Jan Beatty, and Chris Abani. Submissions should be in the spirit of Split This Rock: socially engaged poems, poems that reach beyond the self to connect with the larger community or world. Up to 3 poems may be submitted and there is a $20 reading fee which benefits Split This Rock Poetry Festival: Poetry of Provocation & Witness. First place receives $500; 2nd and 3rd place, $250 each. All three prize winners will receive free Split This Rock Poetry Festival 2018 registration and have their poems published in* The Quarry,* our online social justice database. Additionally, the first place winning poet will be invited to read on the main stage with other featured poets at the festival. The contest deadline is November 1, 2016. More information can be found on Facebook, at Submittable, and on the 2017 Poetry Contest web page Past winners can be found by visiting The Quarry: A Social Justice Poetry Database, clicking “Contest-Winning Poems,” and then clicking “Annual Poetry Contest.”

Oakland Arts Review - Seeking Undergraduate Submissions

Oakland Arts Review, a literary journal produced by undergraduates and which features only undergraduate work invites submissions.

Students may submit poetry, fiction, nonfiction, scripts, graphic narratives, as well as artwork for our cover. There is no submission fee and they can submit online at our website: Submissions are accepted year round, but we will start considering work in October and will finalize decisions for our second issue by November.

We are also excited to offer a prize this year—the *Hajja Razia Sharif Sheikh Prize in Poetry and Nonfiction*. Winners must be undergraduates currently enrolled in degree granting colleges in the United States, and awards will be given to the best essay and poem that addresses the experience of being Muslim in America. While the authors would not have to identify as Muslim to be awarded the prize, each piece must in some way speak to the experience — joys and challenges — of being Muslim in America today, or describe components of the American Muslim experience in ways that educate and inform our readers. It is free to enter. The first prize in each category will be $500 and publication in OAR, and the second prize will be $300 and publication.